Awards winners crowned as Expo looks ahead to 2016

Professionals comprising the cream of the tire industry assembled at a gala dinner on February 11 to see the winners of the 2015 Tire Technology International Awards announced.

Michelin scooped two of the five industry awards on the night, securing the Tire Manufacturer of the Year crown and having EverGrip named the Tire Technology of the Year. Jean-Pierre César, Michelin’s VP of technical operations, passenger car and light truck worldwide, was in Cologne to collect the trophies. Referring to his company’s achievements of the past year, which have included the further commercialization of Tweel, the development of tires for Formula E, and new partnerships with sustainable materials suppliers as well as EverGrip, he said: “All these initiatives are about striving for more responsible, more sustainable and more enjoyable mobility in the future.”

Lifetime Achievement Awards were presented to Professor Hans Pacejka and Dr Roger Williams, while the Young Scientist Prize – chosen from a record 17 entries – went to Flavio Farroni from the University of Naples Federico II.

On the show floor on Thursday, thoughts were turning to the Expo’s move to a brand-new hall and conference rooms in Hannover in 2016. “We’re happy with how the show has gone and have some interesting new leads,” said S. Kalyanaraman, head of marketing for machinery maker, Larsen & Toubro. “We’ve booked for Hannover and will have a booth two-and-a-half times the size of this year’s.”

The organizers report that next year’s show hall – which is 25% bigger than the current Cologne hall – is already near to being sold out.

Exhibitor Videos

Archived Reviews

2022 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015