2018 Awards Winners

The jury has returned its verdict, the votes have been counted, and the winners have been announced!

For the eleventh time, the presentation of the Tire Technology International Awards for Innovation and Excellence – the world’s biggest celebration of endeavour in the field of tire development and manufacturing – has been made at Tire Technology Expo in Hannover, Germany. Trophies were presented in five main categories during a gala dinner on 21 February, with the winners chosen by an independent, international panel of 31 tire industry experts (see below).

The awards are coordinated by Tire Technology International magazine, which is published by UKi Media & Events, the organiser of Tire Technology Expo. The full list of winners is below – click on each one for more information!


Tire Manufacturer

Ulf Sandberg

Lifetime Achievement Award


Tire Technology


Environmental Achievement

Smithers Rapra

Tire Industry Supplier


Manufacturing Innovation

Corentin Hermange

Young Scientist Prize

2018 Judging Panel

Ken Albers Senior NVH engineer, Kumho America Technical Centers
Eric Amis Dean, College of Polymer Science and Polymer Engineering, University of Akron
Klaus Baltruschat Tire expert, TÜV SÜD
Anke Blume Chair of elastomer technology and engineering, University of Twente
Maik Brinkmeier FEM development engineer, commercial tires, Continental
Stuart Cook Director of research, TARRC
Flavio Farroni Research fellow, University of Naples Federico II
Jean-Claude Fauré Senior tire research specialist, Michelin
Stefan Fischer Managing director Europe for product technology, Giti Tire
Romain Hansen Global director, tire technology projects, Goodyear
Graham Heeps Editor, Tire Technology International
Rudi Hein Executive advisor, Standards and Regulations, Bridgestone Technical Center Europe
Gert Heinrich Director of the Institute of Polymer Materials, Leibniz Institute for Polymer Research, Dresden
Kuninobu Kadota Fellow, Tire Research Division, Bridgestone Corporation
Daniele Lorenzetti Chief technology officer, Apollo Tyres
Federico Mancosu Consultant, ex-Pirelli
Kozaburo Nakaseko Senior executive officer, Sumitomo Rubber Industries
Joerg Nohl VP for engineering tires, Continental
Henning Olsson Director of research & business development, Calspan
Bo Persson Research scientist, FZ Jülich
Jan Prins Technical specialist tyre CAE & modelling, Jaguar Land Rover
Lorenzo Pulici Engineering project leader, Pirelli
David Shaw Head of research, Tire Industry Research
Gregory Smith Director, Tyre CAE and Modelling Consultants
Saied Taheri Director of CenTiRe, Virginia Tech
Joe Walter Adjunct professor, mechanical engineering, University of Akron
Shunichi Yamazaki President, Intelligent Vehicle Research Institute
Chuck Yurkovich Senior vice president, global research & development, Cooper Tire

Note: Judges are not permitted to vote in categories where they have a conflict of interest